Call for Student Research Posters

HPDC and SIGMETRICS encourage to submit poster proposals aimed at showcasing the "work-in-progress" of students attending the two conferences. The goal of the poster session is to present students' research, provide an opportunity for informal discussion and facilitate interaction between members of the two communities. Posters will be presented on the evening of Wednesday, June 8th.

The primary author(s) of the poster must be a student. Posters will be reviewed by members of the HPDC and SIGMETRICS organization committees. At the event, posters must be presented by a student. Authors of accepted papers must not submit a poster of the work they present in the conference or affiliated workshops. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Applications of parallel, distributed, and cloud computing
  • Resource management, scheduling and load-balancing
  • Performance modeling, simulation, measurement and prediction
  • Network architectures, topology and routing, wireless networks
  • Systems, networks, and architectures for high end computing
  • Energy efficient computing systems
  • Data intensive computing
  • I/O, file systems, and data management
  • Parallel and multicore issues and opportunities
  • Virtualization of machines, networks, and storage
  • Sensor networks, mobile devices, real-time systems
  • Social networks, Internet servers, multimedia systems, web services
  • Both analytical and empirical studies are encouraged to be submitted to the student poster session.

    Submission Guidelines:

    Student authors are asked to submit 2 pages abstracts in standard ACM format (for templates, see before the deadline below. All submissions should be in PDF format. Please submit your abstract at The accepted abstracts will appear in a special issue of ACM Performance Evaluation Review (PER).

    Important Dates

  • Submission deadline April 29, 2011
  • Acceptance notifications May 9, 2011
  • Student Poster Session Chairs

  • Giuliano Casale, Imperial College London
  • Ioan Raicu, Illinois Institute of Technology & Argonne National Laboratory
  • Student Poster Session Program Committee

  • Augustin Chaintreau, Columbia University
  • Abhishek Chandra, University of Minnesota
  • Alex Iosup - EWI, Delft University
  • Keith Jackson, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Manish Parashar, Rutgers University
  • Y. C. Tay, National University of Singapore