The 27th International Symposium on High-Performance Parallel and Distributed Computing

Tempe, Arizona, USA - June 11-15, 2018

Achievement Award Call for Nominations

The annual HPDC Achievement Award is presented to an individual who has made long-lasting, influential contributions to the foundations or practice of the field of high-performance parallel and distributed computing (HPDC). These contributions may include one or more of the following:

  • conceptual advances that have influenced the design or operation of HPDC systems or applications;
  • innovative techniques or tools for the design or analysis of HPDC systems or applications;
  • the design, the implementation, and the deployment of innovative (components of) HPDC systems or applications;
  • the analysis of innovative (components of) HPDC systems or applications.
In selecting the achievement award recipient, the Award Selection Committee will place particular emphasis on seminal contributions and a sustained record of high-impact in the field.

Past Winners

  • 2017: David Abramson, University of Queensland, Australia
  • 2016: Jack Dongarra, UTK and Oak Ridge
  • 2015: Ewa Deelman, Information Sciences Institute - USC, USA
  • 2014: Rich Wolski, UC Santa Barbara, USA
  • 2013: Miron Livny, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
  • 2012: Ian Foster, University of Chicago and Argonne National Laboratory, USA

Achievement Award Talk

The award will be presented at the 27th ACM Symposium on High-Performance Parallel and Distributed Computing (HPDC-25) to be held in Tempe Arizona from June 11 - June 14, 2018. The winner should be available to receive the award in person and present an achievement award talk at the conference.

Nominations for the 2018 Award

Candidates may be nominated by colleagues. A nomination (in the form of a single pdf file) should be approximately one page long and contain the following details:

  1. The nominee's current professional affiliation(s).
  2. A brief citation (thirty words or less) precisely stating the most salient reason(s) why the nominee is qualified for the award.
  3. A description of the technical contributions of the nominee and their significance and impact.
Nominations should be sent to Jon Weissman (

Important Dates

Nomination deadline: Monday, April 16th, 2018

2018 Award Selection Committee (tentative)

  • Jon Weissman (Chair), University of Minnesota
  • Ming Zhao, Arizona State U
  • Lavanya Ramakrishan, LBL
  • David Abramson, University of Queensland, Australia
The award selection committee is chaired by a member of the HPDC steering committee and includes the General Chair(s) and the Program Committee Chair(s) of the current HPDC conference, and the previous year's award winner. An award committee member cannot be a nominator or be selected as the winner.

If you have submitted a nomination in the past that did not make it, please feel to resubmit prior names!