The 32nd International Symposium on High-Performance Parallel and Distributed Computing

Orlando, Florida, United States, June 20 - 23, 2023

HPDC 2023 Achievement Award

HPDC'23 Achievement Award

We are happy to announce that Manish Parashar is the recipient of the 2023 Achievement Award in High Performance Distributed Computing for pioneering contributions in high performance parallel and distributed computational methods, data management, in-situ computing, and international leadership in cyberinfrastructure and translational computer science.

Dr. Parashar will deliver a keynote address and be recognized at the HPDC 2023 conference as part of the ACM Federated Computing Research Conference in Orlando, Florida.

>Manish Parashar

Bio: Dr. Manish Parashar is Director of the Scientific Computing and Imaging (SCI) Institute, Chair in Computational Science and Engineering, and Professor, School of Computing at the University of Utah. He is currently serving as the Director of the Office of Advanced Cyber Infrastructure at the National Science Foundation. His research interests are in the broad areas of parallel and distributed computing and computational and data-enabled science and engineering, where he has published more than 140 articles, cited over 16 thousand times. He is the founding chair of the IEEE Technical Consortium on High Performance Computing (TCHPC), Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems and serves on the editorial boards and organizing committees of a number of journals and international conferences and workshops. Dr. Parashar is a Fellow of AAAS, ACM, and the IEEE Computer Society.


The annual HPDC Achievement Award is presented to an individual who has made long-lasting, influential contributions to the foundations or practice of the field of high-performance parallel and distributed computing (HPDC).

Past Winners

  • 2022: Franck Capello, Argonne National Lab, USA
  • 2021: Rosa M. Badia, Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain
  • 2019: Geoffrey Fox, Indiana University, USA
  • 2018: Satoshi Matsuoka, Riken CCS, Japan
  • 2017: David Abramson, University of Queensland, Australia
  • 2016: Jack Dongarra, UTK and Oak Ridge
  • 2015: Ewa Deelman, Information Sciences Institute - USC, USA
  • 2014: Rich Wolski, UC Santa Barbara, USA
  • 2013: Miron Livny, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
  • 2012: Ian Foster, University of Chicago and Argonne National Laboratory, USA


Social Media