Achievement Award Call for Nominations

HPDC Achievement Award Call

In 2012, HPDC established an annual achievement award, which is presented to an individual who has made long-lasting, influential contributions to the foundations or practice of the field of high-performance parallel and distributed computing (HPDC). These contributions may include one or more of the following:

  • conceptual advances that have influenced the design or operation of HPDC systems or applications;
  • innovative techniques or tools for the design or analysis of HPDC systems or applications;
  • the design, the implementation, and the deployment of innovative (components of) HPDC systems or applications;
  • the analysis of innovative (components of) HPDC systems or applications.
In selecting the achievement award recipient, the Award Selection Committee will place particular emphasis on seminal contributions and a sustained record of high-impact in the field.

Achievement Award Talk

The award will be presented at the 24th ACM Symposium on High-Performance Parallel and Distributed Computing (HPDC-24) to be held in Portland, Oregon, from June 15-19, 2015. The winner should be available to receive the award in person and present an achievement award talk at the HPDC-24 conference.

Nominations for the 2015 Award (Closed)

Candidates may be nominated by colleagues. A nomination (in the form of a single pdf file) should be approximately one page long and contain the following details:

  1. The nominee's current professional affiliation(s).
  2. A brief citation (thirty words or less) precisely stating the most salient reason(s) why the nominee is qualified for the award.
  3. A description of the technical contributions of the nominee and their significance and impact.
Nominations should be sent to Douglas Thain.

Important Dates

Nomination deadline: March 9th, 2015

2015 Award Selection Committee

  • Douglas Thain (Chair), University of Notre Dame, USA
  • Thilo Kielmann, VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Michela Taufer, University of Delaware, USA
  • Dean Hildebrand, IBM Research Almaden, USA
  • Rich Wolski, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
The award selection committee is chaired by a member of the HPDC steering committee and includes the General Chair(s) and the Program Committee Chair(s) of the current HPDC conference, and the previous year's award winner. An award committee member cannot be a nominator or be selected as the winner.